The beginning.

I had my first panic attack in elementary school. Or, I don’t know, maybe in middle school. I recently tried to get my mom to help me remember when this moment was because I thought it would make a strong opening line for my blog, but we disagreed on the timeline. I say elementary school; she says middle school. You can see that I wanted it to be the more dramatic of the two. Either way, I do remember what it felt like. I remember laying on our green leather sofa in the evening. I remember desperately trying to catch my breath. I remember being so confused and thinking that this may be it for me; me, a child. I remember my parents leaning over me, trying to help. I don’t remember what did help. But something must have helped considering I didn’t end up in the hospital. Over the next few days and weeks I went to doctors looking for asthma or allergies and went home with an unnecessary inhaler and no real answers. It wasn’t until a few years ago, while writing a paper for graduate school, that I realized that I hadn’t had an allergic reaction or asthma attack. I’d had a panic attack.

Since then I have had a lot of panic attacks. I’ve been in a lot of counseling. I’ve taken a fair amount of psychiatric drugs. I’ve written, thought, and talked a lot about my life with anxiety and depression. I’ve gotten a masters degree in counseling. I’ve gotten married. I’ve had serious bouts of depression. I’ve moved! I’ve moved. For reasons I am still teasing out, the moving triggered one of the worst seasons of anxiety that I have ever experienced. I’m still in it, really. That’s why I wanted to write now. Now, when it is fresh in me. When it is raw and here and accessible. I want to share some of my experiences with mental health, not because I’ve done it especially well, but because I can. Because 10 years ago I would sit up at night on the computer vacillating between binging MTV shows and frantically searching for remedies to my “dark days.” I felt alone and scared and confused for a long time. Sometimes I still do. My hope is that those of you who have experience with these things can find some small grain of hope and comfort, and that those of you who love someone who deals with these things can find out what it is like and how to help the ones you love (but also how to take care of yourself).

I’m open to basically any question about my experience. Please ask.

P.S. my diagnosis as a child was “exercise induced asthma.” I’m basically sure I was just so terribly unathletic that I had panic attacks during P.E. due to embarrassment and shame.

7 thoughts on “The beginning.

  1. ^^^ I can hear you saying the P.S. like I’m sitting right there with you. Thanks for sharing, Camilla! You are one courageous soul.

    Like

  2. You’re going to bless people by sharing your journey. When I think of you I think of how strong and self aware bc you’ve gone through this. Thankful I get to listen along. 😘

    Like

  3. You’re going to bless people bc of your willingness to share. Strength & self aware that’s what I think of when I think of you, and I think relatable too, bc you have dealt with this struggle. Grateful for you friend 😘

    Like

  4. I had my first panic attack during my engagement — had no idea what it was until years later when I starting reading about them in a magazine. OMG! That was me! Transitions and big decisions — new jobs, buying a car, choosing a couch, motherhood, and MOVING — all provoke anxiety for me. We have lots of fellow strugglers and we all benefit when we share the struggle. Keep writing, Camilla!

    Like

  5. Camilla,

    I thank you for your courage to speak about your anxiety. My wife struggles deeply with it, and if the anxiety itself were not enough, she struggles with shame as a result of feeling so incapacitated by her attacks. Although hers are very infrequent, I have seen the toll they take on her physically, emotionally and spiritually and can sympathize to a certain degree with what you and your husband are going through. I’m going to point my wife this direction for some support and isights and maybe she can give some input through these comments.

    PS: Tell your husband hi for me, we played football together in college for a couple years. Also, my wife has her masters in counseling as well so the similarities and connections are amazing!

    Praying for both of you and looking forward to what you bring to the Kingdom through this blog.

    Grace and Peace

    Like

  6. Camilla,
    I am so encouraged by your words. Honesty of this sort takes major courage but you are allowing your story to be used to change lives. While my battle falls under a different name, I know the feeling of being alone in a struggle and wishing for someone to compare experiences. I am so, so encouraged by you! Xoxox

    Like

Leave a comment