Practically: Anxiety

Anxiety’s primary goal is to paralyze us. The more we can find things we enjoy in spite of anxiety, we are teaching the anxiety that it doesn’t have the power it wants to have.

Taking care of myself in an anxious state can help keep me from a state of panic. Even better is when I am aware enough to take care of myself in a non-anxious state so I don’t get too into the anxiety, but, that’s a topic for another day.

I notice a few things when I start to get anxious. I usually first notice my breathing slowing down in response to the anxiety. Our bodies are unbelievable indicators of anxiety, which is why it is so important to pay attention to what it is telling you. I will hear my heart beating fast, my breathing will change, and I may experience a headache or stomach ache. This is when I know my body is responding to some anxiety I have stored away and I need to start working to reverse it.

Here are a few things that help me enjoy my life in this state of heightened anxiety.

Heightened Anxiety

  • Your body is responding to something going on internally, but that doesn’t mean you have to focus internally immediately. Sometimes the best thing you can do is shut down your brain for a few minutes (or hours). If you have the ability and room to rest, do it! Meditate, breathe deeply, take a few minutes to yourself in the bathroom at work. Wherever you are, step away.
  • Get outside! The sun is a wonder. Sitting outside and reading a book is a miracle for me. But then sometimes I get too hot or the book is too sad and I start to get panicky. And then I go inside. Or bring a cool drink out with me. Or read buzzfeed instead of The Glass Castle.
  • Be flexible. As my last bullet might have alluded, it takes time and patience to figure out what works for you. Allow yourself time to work through different options. Maybe you think going to work out will feel good but you get there and start to feel overwhelmed. It’s ok to turn around and leave right when you get there. Those front desk people don’t know you, and even if they do, who cares?
  • I absolutely cannot do caffeine or anything that raises my heart rate too high. My body follows my heart rate. If it gets too high, the rest of my body follows in it’s normal anxious patterns. So, if I can keep my heart rate low until my anxiety is more under control, I have a much better chance of not panicking. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to stop Luke on walks (walks, people) because I could feel my heart rate getting too high.
  • This doesn’t mean don’t be active! Especially if you are an active person by nature (good for you…), you will want to keep on with your routine as much as feels good. Going on walks or lifting weights or riding your bike can be very good. As long as you are paying attention to how your body is responding and changing what you are doing as needed.
  • Massages. Do it. You won’t regret it. It is the best.

Again, this is not a one size fits all situation. The most important thing is that you keep trying. Do yoga. Try guided meditation. Get a massage. Call your sister. Read your favorite book. Sing along to your favorite song. Keep teaching your body that anxiety does not dictate how it feels. Most importantly, be gentle when the anxiety does.

Leave a comment